Skip to main content

Tim Tector to lead Ireland to U19 World Cup

By December 16, 2021Sports games

An Irish men’s team of 15 players has been nominated for the upcoming ICC Under-19 World Cup to be held in the Caribbean in January next year. Tim Tector will once again be the team’s captain – he is Tector’s third brother to captain his country in this event with Jack (Bangladesh 2016) and Harry (New Zealand 2018) leading the last two Irish teams to participate in the Under-19 Men’s World Cup. Chopped off.

According to Cricket Ireland, Ryan Eagleson, who was the head coach of the qualifying tournament, served as Ireland’s interim national men’s bowling coach. Wolves’ current performance director and head coach Peter Johnston replaces Eagleson.

“The importance of competing at the Under-19 World Cups cannot be understated for emerging cricketers. So many of today’s cricket superstars have cut their teeth at such tournaments – that’s as a dress rehearsal for the main event, and is seen as a key experience for players looking to step onto the senior international stage, ”said Johnston, Ireland Under-19 head coach, according to the website of Cricket Ireland. “In Ireland’s last appearance at the Under-19 World Cup in New Zealand in 2018, we won three of our six matches, including a memorable 4-point victory over Afghanistan.

“From that team, Neil Rock, Harry Tector and Josh Little made their senior international debuts, while Graham Kennedy, JJ Garth and Aaron Cawley played for the Ireland Wolves,” he added. The West Indies will host the 14th edition of the ICC Men’s Under-19 World Cup for the first time. The tournament will see 16 teams travel to the Caribbean to play 48 matches from January 14 to February 5 in four host countries.

Ireland Men’s Under-19 Team: Tim Tector (captain) (YMCA), Diarmuid Burke (Malahide), Joshua Cox (Paul Roos Gymnasium), Jack Dickson (Instonians), Liam Doherty (St. Andrew’s School), Jamie Forbes (YMCA), Daniel Forkin (Merrion), Matthew Humphreys (Lisburn), Philippe le Roux (Railway Union), Scott Macbeth (St. Johnston), Nathan McGuire (Rush), Muzamil Sherzad (North Kildare), David Vincent (Clontarf ), Luke Whelan (North County), Reuben Wilson (YMCA). (ANI)

(This story was not edited by Devdiscourse staff and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)