Skip to main content

South Western Railway teams win medals at sporting events

By March 15, 2022March 27th, 2022Sports events

South Western Railway sports teams won prizes at the All India Railway Sports Championships held recently.

The South Western Railway team won one gold, five silver and one bronze at the 68th Indian Railway Weightlifting Championship.

Lokchand S. won the gold medal in the 96 kg category, Manjunath Marati S. Sarvanan, M. Ezhilarasan, Ajeet Singh, S. Vikram won the silver medals and Mukesh B. won the bronze medal .

They were coached by coach P. Muralikrishnan.

For the third time in a row, South Western Railway emerged as the champions of the Indian Railroad Cycle Championship held recently in Secunderabad.

Ashwin Patil won gold in 4000m team pursuit cycling, Raju Bhati won gold in 4000m individual pursuit cycling, Sachin Desai won gold in 20km Point Race Cycling, Ranjit Singh won silver in the 1000m Sprint Cycling and Sandesh Uppar won bronze in the 1000m individual time trial.

In the team events, Ashwin Patil, Raju Bhati, Ranjit Singh and Sachin Desai won gold in the 4000m team pursuit cycling and Sachin Desai, Ranjit Singh and JK Ashwin won gold in the 1 000 m Cycling team sprint. They were trained by coach Nijappa Enteth and led by team manager Vijaya Singh Rajput.

The South Western Railway Sports Association came fourth in the Indian Railway Golf Championship held at Rae Bareili’s Modern Coach Factory. Mr. Jaiveer won the individual bronze medal.

General Manager Sanjeev Kisore congratulated the champions and the sports association led by Sanjeev Katware and Ajay Jain.