Skip to main content

Dilip Tirkey becomes Hockey India’s first player-president

By September 23, 2022October 1st, 2022Sports games

Former India captain Dilip Tirkey became Hockey India’s first player-president on Friday after he was elected unopposed to the top job, as another sportsman landed the top job in a National Sports Federation (NSF) .

Hockey India’s elections were due to be held on October 1, but the results were announced in advance as there were no candidates for any position. Tirkey, who submitted his candidacy for the chairmanship of Hockey Odisha, was elected after Uttar Pradesh Hockey chief Rakesh Katyal and Hockey Jharkhand’s Bhola Nath Singh withdrew their nominations on Friday.

Tirkey, 44, is the latest addition to the list of players who have landed the highest job in a sports body. Recently, former player Kalyan Chaubey became the boss of the All India Football Federation (AIFF).

Tirkey says athletes can also contribute as administrators.

”I think former players should go into sports administration because they know where to focus. As Sourav Ganguly was in CAB first then went to BCCI and is performing brilliantly,’ Tirkey told PTI-Bhasha.

”I am happy that Hockey India has also elected a former player like me as president for the first time. Players go through many phases in their career and they get better experience,’ the former full-back added.

Adille Sumariwalla, who is also a former player, is the president of the Athletics Federation of India (AFI).

Bhola Nath was elected unopposed as Secretary General.

The International Hockey Federation (FIH) has approved the nominations for Tirkey and his team. In a letter, the FIH said that when the number of candidates vying for a position is equal to or less than the number of positions, they will be deemed to have been elected unopposed as per the election regulations on the Hockey India website. “Therefore, we are happy to observe that the Executive Council of Hockey India is elected as put on the Hockey India website and the election of positions was unanimous for all positions,” he said. -he declares. The game’s governing body appreciated the efforts of the three-member Committee of Administrators (CoA), which included Justice Anil R Dave, SY Quraishi and Zafar Iqbal, in successfully completing the election process. ”We are delighted that the electoral process has been completed and that a democratic body is now in place. We extend our congratulations to Dr Dilip Tirkey, Bhola Nath Singh and Sekar J Manoharan and look forward to working closely with them,’ he added.

Tirkey, who is the country’s most capped player with 412 international caps, said there was a need to groom the next generation of players.

“There is a need for a specific training program for junior players, such as the need to prepare the next generation of drag flickers and goalkeepers and there will also be a focus on team fitness. “, did he declare.

“We saw how important the role of our drag flicker and goalkeeper PR Sreejesh was in the Olympics, but after that the next generation players will also have to be produced.” He also said he There is also a plan to restart the Hockey League.

”We also have plans to restart the hockey league. It will be discussed with the committee and after discussion with the executive council, it will be continued. ”Bhola Nath said he decided to withdraw his appointment as chairman to allow a great player like Tirkey to take the reins.

”I have withdrawn after due consultation with Dilip Tirkey. He is a legend and we decided to work together for the good of Indian hockey. Our goal is to see India win Olympic gold again,” Bhola Nath told PTI.

”We will also work to develop the game locally and make national hockey stronger.” Other elected members of Hockey India are Asima Ali (Vice President) of Hockey Jammu & Kashmir, SVS Subramanya Gupta of Karnataka (Vice Chairman), Sekar J Manoharan Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu (Treasurer), Arti Singh of Hockey Rajasthan (Co-Secretary) and Sunil Malik of Hockey Haryana (Co-Secretary).

The five members of the executive council are Arun Kumar Sarswat (Rajasthan Hockey), Asrita Lakra (Jharkhand Hockey), Gurpreet Kaur (Delhi Hockey), V Sunil Kumar (Kerala Hockey) and Tapan Kumar Das (Assam Hockey).

(This story has not been edited by the Devdiscourse team and is auto-generated from a syndicated feed.)